At the time of independence the National Assembly comprised the Speaker of the National Assembly namely Hon. Dr A. Merriweather, thirty-one (31) elected Members, four (4) Specially Elected Members. Members of Cabinet were drawn from the membership of the National Assembly. His Excellency Sir Seretse Khama had been elected as Member of Parliament for Serowe North in 1965, and he continued as such until 1969 when legislation was passed allowing for the present system of Presidential elections whereafter he relinquished his position as MP for Serowe North. At independence, membership of the National Assembly was as follows:-

The Speaker

The Hon. Dr. Alfred Merriweather O. B. E.

Deputy Speaker

Mr Gaefalale G. Sebeso - (Tswapong South)

The Cabinet

  • The Hon. Seretse M. Khama - Serowe North) Prime Minister
  • The Hon. Quette J. Masire - (Kanye South) Deputy Prime Minister
  • The Hon. Archelaus Tsoebebe - (Bobirwa) Minister of Labour and Social Services
  • The David J. C. Morgan - (Specially Elected) Minister of Works and Communications
  • The Hon. Moutlakgola P. K. Nwako - (Tswapong North) Minister of Agriculture
  • The Hon. Amos M. Dambe - (Mmadinare) Minister of Mines, Commerce and Industry
  • The Hon. Tsheko Tsheko - (Okavango) Minister of Local Government
  • The Hon. Alan G. Tilbury - Attorney General

 Other Government Members

  • The Hon. Basenyapelo R. Chibana - Kanye North
  • The Hon. ObedΒ I.Β Chilume - Nkange
  • The Hon. James G. Haskins - Specially Elected
  • The Hon. Bakwena Kgari - Serowe South
  • The No. Gaolese K. Koma - Mahalapye
  • The Hon. Gaerolwe M. Kwerepe - Ngami
  • The Hon. Lemme Makgekgenene - Tonota
  • The Hon. Edison S. Masisi - Moshupa
  • The Hon. Mudongo Maswikiti - Sebina and Gweta
  • The Hon. Boy M. Moapare - Kgalagadi
  • The Hon. Norman C. Molomo - GaboroneΒ and Ramotswa
  • The Hon. Dikgothi R. Monwela - Maun and Chobe
  • The Hon. Goareng S. Mosinyi - Shoshong
  • The Hon. Johnson O. M. Nkoane - Kweneng South
  • The Hon. Eyes G. Reokwaeng - Kweneng West
  • The Hon. Pulafela M. Sebotho - Ngwaketse and Kgalagadi
  • The Hon. Ntwakgolo. Sekga - Ghanzi
  • The Hon. George W. Sim - Specially Elected
  • The Hon. Benjamin Steinberg - Boteti
  • The Hon. Rev. Stephen A. Thobega - Molepolole

Opposition Members

  • The Hon. Phillip. G. Matante - Francistown and Tati
  • The Hon. Thari W. Motlhagodi - Mochudi
  • The Hon. Kenneth M. Nkhwa - Tati West

Parliament Secretaries

  • Mr Englishman Kgabo (Molepolole East) - Ministry of Finance
  • Mr Ramsey D. Molefe (Specially Elected) - Ministry of Agriculture
  • Mr Motlatsi K. Segokgo (Kgatleng and Tlokweng) - Ministry of Labour and Social Services